>Baker City Herald | Baker County Oregon's News Leader

Baker news NE Oregon Classifieds Web
web powered by Web Search Powered by Google

Follow BakerCityHerald.com

Recent article comments

Powered by Disqus

Home arrow Opinion

Letters to the Editor for May 27, 2013


An English traveler fondly remembers Pearl Jones

It is this time of year I remember a friend I met 20 years ago this week. One name I know yours readers will know, Pearl Jones. I spent six weeks in America following the OregonTrail. When I arrived in Baker City, Pearl, knowing I was traveling alone, tucked me under her wing and showed me around, and I met many of her friends and family. After that Pearl and I kept in touch. And when she visited England we met up. Her family let me know about her death several years ago.

I still remember with fondness Baker City, its people and most of all Pearl Jones. My regards to you all.

Maggie Willsteed

Salisbury, England

Community helps Mayce Collard’s memory live on

We wish to thank our community for surrounding the fifth-annual Mayce Day-DRINK PINK event with support for the J. Mayce Memorial Scholarship fund. With a team effort of the Collard family, BHS Learning Center’s Bulldog Blender, volunteers and you, we have been able to financially award numerous recipients who personify many of Mayce’s best qualities: a positive attitude, volunteer experience and acceptance of others.

February 2007 was a devastating time for the Collard family, when Mayce Collard, an extraordinary young woman, was taken from us at age 16, all too soon. This has changed the Collards’ lives forever, but I personally know the outreach from our community has been and continues to be such a help.

Mayce Day-DRINK PINK is a day of hustle and bustle with the making of more than 200 drinks, and numerous volunteers, including the Collards, driving around town delivering cups and cups of blended drinks all topped off with special Mayce Day hot pink straws (thank you, Sorbenots!). In the midst of the craziness there never fails to be a moment of reflection of how powerful this day is. Realizing each and every drink was ordered with Mayce Collard crossing their mind. She lives on in us. It is a blessing to live in such a wonderful place.

With gratitude on behalf of the Collard family.

Amy Powell

Baker City

 

Even with help from space, I can get led astray

By Jayson Jacoby

Baker City Herald Editor

From 12,000 miles up in space — a place I’ve never actually visited except in a figurative sense — I can plot my course with ease and precision across a goodly portion of Baker County.

On the ground, though, I get fouled up after the first intersection.

Give a bunch of brainiacs millions of dollars and they can toss satellites and cameras and other cool stuff into orbit.

What they can’t do is iron out Baker County’s topography, which is as rumpled as Charlie Sheen’s shirt after a hard weekend.

Although the two things, so far as I know, aren’t otherwise alike. I doubt Charlie ever smells strongly of sagebrush, for instance.

The risk in exploring the nearly tree-free hinterlands along the divide between the Powder and Burnt rivers east of Baker City, an area that includes a section of the Oregon Trail, isn’t that you’ll get lost.

The scarcity of trees, and the expansive views it affords, makes this unlikely except perhaps in a pea soup fog or a blizzard.

What I’m talking about is the navigational purgatory in which you never seem to get where you’re trying to go because there’s always a ridge or a knob or a draw between you and where you want to be.

It’s the place where you don’t trust the roads, which veer about in an unpredictable, sometimes unfathomable, way.

This wasn’t such a problem, years ago.

You figured on taking a lot of wrong turns, except you didn’t think of them as “wrong,” exactly, because even if you brought a map you knew better than to rely on it.

But these days we have GPS satellites, which follow us around like a crew of attentive butlers (complete with a snooty British accent, on some models.)

Moreover, we have Google Earth.

And in part because its photographs were taken from the middling height of a few hundred miles — much closer than the GPS satellites — the detail, as anyone knows who has sampled this program, is stunning.

Especially out on the Powder-Burnt Divide, where only an occasional juniper interferes with the orbiting cameras.

Take a tour of the area on Google Earth and you’ll see that the roads, many of which consist only of a pair of tire-width lines through the sagebrush and grass, show up as distinctly as a six-lane freeway.

Even fence lines, which involve considerable pounding but little in the way of excavation, are pretty easy to pick out.

The result of which is that it’s easy to convince yourself, after taking the interstellar bird’s eye view from Google Earth, that driving from one place to another is as simple as making it through the sort of maze they print on the side of a McDonald’s Happy Meal box, the sort any competent first-grader can finish without having to go back even once.

All you have to do is stay on this tan squiggle and you’ll be fine.

It was with this sense of confidence that I set out on a recent Sunday with my father-in-law, Howard Britton.

Last spring we drove from near Pritchard Creek west to the White Swan mine and then across Virtue Flat to Highway 86 near the Interpretive Center.

My goal that day was to stay on a road that I believed, after an extended study of Google Earth, stayed near the spine of the divide. 

I still think it might.

But I failed to find the right way last year.

This year I failed again, except in a different place, or, rather, places.

We were going along well for a few miles. Each of my navigational aides — GPS,  paper map, seemingly clear memory of the Google Earth view — was in agreement. But then we came onto a confounding boundary where several fence gates convened. We tried a different route, which led us to a windmill I was certain I had been to before, until it became obvious that I hadn’t.

Eventually we made it back to the “main” road — as I said, you have to work awfully hard to actually get lost in that country.

Still and all, I was, and still am, a trifle dismayed that a seemingly straightforward task devolved so quickly.

I’m no John Fremont, but neither has my inner compass ever let me down so completely that I had to spend a night hunkered under a tree, munching on pine needles and wondering how awful my own urine would actually taste.

I did gain a newfound respect, though, for those pioneers who came this way more than a century and a half ago.

Their maps, if they had any, were crude. Their version of Google Earth was to climb the tallest tree nearby, which along much of the route wasn’t very tall at all.

Yet they crossed most of a continent by a route that survives yet.

In fact the section of the Oregon Trail we followed must be unusual in that none of it has been paved over or erased by city or farm.

Someone with a more educated eye than mine could, I’m sure, still detect in places the rut of the wagon wheel from that of the heifer.

Probably get more use out of Google Earth, too.

Jayson Jacoby is editor
of the Baker City Herald.

 

A useful discussion

Baker City Herald Editorial Board

A sense of impending financial crisis pervaded Baker City Hall for a few evenings this week but fortunately the specter of laying off police officers and firefighters was short-lived.

The debate among the city’s budget board was, in the main, a healthy one.

It served to remind city officials — though we hope no such reminder was truly necessary — that the economic outlook, though improving, is far from rosy.

And that uncertainty needs to be reflected in the labor contracts city administrators are negotiating with the three unions that represent most city employees.

Each of those unions has a five-year contract that expires June 30.

That’s an unusually long period but we supported the deals when they were approved in 2008 because the duration allowed the city to accurately forecast its personnel costs — which make up about 70 percent of spending — for five years.

Those contracts seem especially generous today in part because they took effect just months before the economy started its historic plunge.

Police received a 3-percent raise for each of the five years.

Firefighters got 4 percent the first year and 3 percent each of the remaining four years.

Members of the third union, which represents mainly public works employees, received between 2 percent and 4 percent for each of the five years (the contract stipulated annual raises based on the federal Consumer Price Index, which ranged from -0.4 percent to 3.8 percent during the contract period, but the amount could not be less than 2 percent nor more than 4 percent).

Many of the local residents whose property taxes go to City Hall didn’t get any raises during that period. Some lost their jobs.

We commend city officials for being responsible in budgeting; the city is fortunate, and somewhat unusual these days, in that it doesn’t need to lay off employees to balance its budget.

But the budget board members who this week critiqued the proposed budget for the coming fiscal year were right to point out that the city can’t maintain its current enviable financial position and still approve lavish, long-term contracts.

It’s far better — and wiser — to acknowledge this now. Financial challenges, unlike wine, almost never improve when they’re stored away and forgotten for a while.

 

Letters to the Editor for May 22, 2013


President Obama tramples  on the Bill of Rights

Since the editor of the Herald is a journalist, it is understandable that in his commentary (“Obama’s Bad Week A Cornucopia For His Critics”) he ranks the Justice Department seizure of phone records from the Associated Press as a more serious offense than the IRS “leaking” information of political value to the Presidents political party.  Let us not forget, however, that these are but two of a long series of abuses by the current administration.  In “Fast and Furious” the so-called Justice Department violated federal firearms laws by funneling weapons into Mexico.  The failure to send needed and requested help to U.S. citizens under attack in Benghazi must rank as one of the most cowardly acts of any administration in our history.

 There is one common thread through the many unconscionable actions this administration is responsible for.  That is a profound disregard for the Constitution, a document Obama himself has clearly voiced objection to on more than one occasion.  et it is a document he swore to uphold and defend.  His taking that oath, and then not doing as he promised is consistent with his all-too-frequent deceptive statements and practices.

 The United States of America defends its Constitution and Bill of Rights. Dictators trample on such things. For the record, Obama has trampled on the 1st, 2nd, 4th, and 10th amendments and that is just since January.  Richard Nixon was impeached for actions less offensive, inflammable, unconstitutional and less frequent than Obama’s. It is time Congress manned up, did its job, and impeached the would be dictator who holds our nation’s highest office.  Were it not for his race, I think Congress might do just that. Perhaps Congress ought to recognize that there are many people of color much more qualified than Obama who are very electable as president. Unlike the current president, they are honest and believe in the founding principles of our nation. I would be as proud to vote for any of them as I would be, were I able, to vote for the impeachment of our current pretender president.

Jerry Boyd

Baker City

 

Get to the bottom of IRS mess


Trust, once broken, is hard to regain.

Certainly that old chestnut applies to the recent revelation that some IRS officials were about as impartial as a political attack ad as they went about their duties.

That the IRS would target conservative groups for especially keen scrutiny when they applied for tax-exempt status is troubling enough.

But the truly frightening aspect of this scandal is that it raises the specter that the agency might have engaged in similar political profiling, only in ways potentially more harmful and punitive to Americans.

It’s entirely conceivable that IRS agents also used political affiliations to decide which individual taxpayers or businesses to audit.

Or, as appears to have been the case with the clandestine profiling of groups seeking tax-exempt status, that the agency relied on such information to decide who wouldn’t receive extra attention from the federal tax-collecting apparatus.

If there is anything positive to be said about the current situation, it’s that the IRS’ transgressions were so blatant that we doubt Congress will cut any corners as it investigates.

We hope not, anyway.

No agency deserves more than the IRS to have its actions subjected to a merciless, but fair, examination.

 

Letters to the Editor for May 20, 2013


Caring about schools, or just stirring the pot?

Do Mr. McComb, Mr. Dielman, or Mrs. Moses really care about the school situation or do they just like to stir the pot? After reading their letters to the editor, I have decided they just like stirring the pot and talking negatively about everyone they don’t support. I don’t personally know any of the three, however I do know a few of the candidates they are bashing on. In my opinion there are multiple well-qualified candidates running for the school board and a few of them have been targets of these three individuals. Do they have children in the school? What is the reason they are bashing several candidates that have children in the school. These candidates want the best for their children and the children of this community.

That brings me to another topic that bothers me. I would like to know if any of these three voted to pass the levy for a new school. Did they support that levy or did they write letters to the editor against the levy? If the community really cared about our kids and their education I feel that levy would have passed. It’s my understanding the majority of property owning residents of Baker would be paying approximately $16 a month for a new school. I know Baker City citizens pay a monthly sidewalk fee to maintain our sidewalks, why can’t we pony up a few more dollars for our kids? In the words of the late, great Whitney Houston, “I believe the children are our future.”

Where are our priorities Baker City? If the citizens of Baker really cared about our kids we would be in the process of building a new middle school. We wouldn’t have a problem with adding sixth-graders to an overcrowded and run-down Middle School if we just built a new one. I agree with Ogan and McKim. Why can’t we support candidates without bashing on the others? There has already been enough of that on the school board. I say vote for whoever you feel is the best candidate and may the best person be elected. 

Bryan Dalke

Baker City

Legislature thwarts local decision on GMO crops

Recently I sent an email to Senator Ferrioli stating I was disappointed in his “yes” vote on Senate Bill 633. What was SB 633? Jackson County wanted an initiative that would allow them to stop GMO crops from being planted in their county. Having a county, city or citizens be in charge of decisions that affect them did not set well with some legislators. We were part of a group that met with Senator Ferrioli before the vote. When the subject of GMO came up. His reply was “I have enough information from two sources. That’s not open for discussion.” When we left his office, the corridors were lined with lobbyists.

Following is the answer to my email from Senator Ferrioli. “Mr. Miller, I am sorry to learn of your disappointment with my vote on SB 633, but I submit this to you in my defense. Your email to me is of a technical level well beyond the capacity of Baker County staff to interpret. How could they possibly administer a management program that would deal with all the potential applications of genetic modification of agricultural products? Who would pay for such a program of administration? Apply the local control argument to the Center for Disease Control. Would it make sense to conduct epidemiological studies at the county level with the resulting patchwork of response? I think not! Ted Ferrioli.”

We exchanged more emails. All the unedited emails are being posted here: www.larryRmiller.com. If I were an administrator or county official, I would consider his reply a slap in the face. To become law, the House of Representatives has to pass their version: HB 3192. If you’re concerned about health, your children’s health, future generations and personal liberty, contact your representative. Do your own GMO investigating. Be sure you know who funded the research. Here’s a good place to start: http://www.guardian.co.uk/environment/2012/sep/28/study-gm-maize-cancer. SB 633 and HB 3192 go far beyond GMO. If the state overrides local opinion on this, what freedoms and liberties will be next?

Larry Miller

Halfway

Cassidy has the qualities we want in school board member

We want to include our names to the list of Kevin Cassidy supporters. What our community should seek and expect from a Baker 5J School board member are these qualities:

1. Thoughtful, careful and respectful consideration of all issues

2. Steady and calm demeanor

3. Ability to listen

4. Desire to fix problems, rather than create them

5. Strong support for students, staff and the community

6. Knowledge of budget, finance, and available resources 

Kevin Cassidy demonstrates these qualities. We have known Kevin for close to 40 years and can personally vouch for his credibility as a strong, solid civic leader. We are supporting Kevin because he would be an asset to the Baker 5J School Board. We urge you to vote and when doing so, make Kevin Cassidy your choice.

Randy and Joanne Crutcher

Baker City

Abell, Cassidy have outstanding qualifications

Having been public school teachers and a bank officer for over 30 years, we want to express our concern over the upcoming school board election. We urge the choice of Rosemary Abell and Kevin Cassidy for school board members because of their outstanding qualifications.

Rosemary Abell has by far the most excellent educational background, having experience as a teacher, administrator and consultant at the local, state and national levels. This school board needs someone with her expertise and experience.

Kevin Cassidy has the business background and leadership qualities to cover that aspect of school board membership. He is a graduate of BHS and EOU with a bachelor’s degree in business/economics, has owned his own company and has worked for ODOT in administration policy and budgetary planning. He has a young son and is active in the Haines PTCO.

For these reasons we strongly urge you to vote for Rosemary Abell and Kevin Cassidy. Their education, experience and integrity would truly benefit the Baker 5J School Board.

Alden Keith Taylor

Nancy Ann Taylor

Nelda Marshall

Haines

 

Where to put B2H?


No matter where Idaho Power Company routes its new power line through Northeastern Oregon — and we have no doubt the 500-kilovolt line will be built — some people will be mad.

A major power line pretty much defines the concept of NIMBY — Not In My Backyard. The trouble, of course, is that every place is someone’s backyard, whether or not that’s literally true.

Idaho Power’s proposed Boardman-to-Hemingway project (B2H) has gone through several permutations since the Boise company proposed it six years ago.

 

Letters to the Editor for May 17, 2013


People need to take responsibility for themselves

After reading Monday’s paper, I find myself wondering does anyone take responsibility for themselves or their causes anymore. There have been several cases in point come to the publics attention lately.

1: A few days ago an article in the paper pointed out HBC had received $600 in grants for flowers, and they were requesting donations of money and labor to plant flowers in the downtown flower boxes. If you need more, get it from your members and while you’re at it ask them to purchase and plant the flowers in front of their own business, don’t ask me. It is for their benefit to beautify their storefront.

2: The sidewalk fee is up for renewal, why do we have to offer to pay someone to build or repair their existing sidewalk in order to get them to address the situation, rather than tell them to be responsible for their property. I maintain my property, you do likewise.

3: In Monday’s paper two more cases in point. The local spay/neuter fund, a worthy cause, wants each citizen to pay $4 per year for their cause, have you ever heard of a fundraiser, do a car wash, or bake sale. It is a worthy cause, but mine is paying my utility bills.

4: Also in Monday’s paper Eagle Creek Orchard suffered frost damage to their crop. Well I feel sorry for them, so did I and I depend on my fruit trees to feed me and my wife. I’m not asking my neighbors to pay for it. You’re a business, buy crop insurance, and you ought to know when you own a business it’s a gamble, you’re the one making the profit you’re the one who suffers the loss as well.

Now, last but not least, my wife and I exist on Social Security and $14 a month in food stamps and the government wants to cut the cost of living raises for Social Security. I can’t afford to take a vacation let alone pay for every one else’s problems, and causes. If all of you asking for others to pay for your troubles want another cause, believe me I will gladly accept all cash donations.

Bill Ward

Baker City

5J candidate urges voters to decide on qualifications

I am concerned about the way in which the “non-partisan” Baker 5J School Board election continues to be “politicized.” In all types of elections, I vote for those candidates that I feel are most qualified and experienced for the positions they are running to fill. Though I did not ask for anyone to write letters of endorsement, I am honored that some did so.

I have spent most of my professional life working in education at the local, state and national levels, as a teacher and curriculum and assessment leader. I am quite familiar with the Common Core State Standards that Oregon has adopted. In fact, I have written assessment items aligned to them and have developed “crosswalks” to compare them to other state and national standards (e.g., the National Teachers of Mathematics Standards).  Some of the work of which I am most proud is related to the education of students with significant cognitive disabilities. In addition, I have experience working with large state budgets in Oregon and Washington. I care deeply about K-12 education, especially in Baker City, and am passionate that all students are given adequate opportunity to learn and progress.

My husband Larry and I have invested much in this community. It is the place we call home. We have owned the Pythian Castle, at the corner of First and Washington, for close to 11 years and have worked hard to renovate it, so that another Baker City landmark might be preserved. 

 I urge you to set aside the “perceived” politics of each candidate and who did or did not endorse each of them. I urge you to look at the qualifications and experiences of each candidate and decide what is important to you in making your choice. I urge you to cast a vote in the Baker 5J School Board election, and vote for the candidates of  your choice.

Rosemary Abell

Baker City

The writer is a candidate for Position 4 on the Baker School Board.

Baker School Board election is being manipulated

Our present school board election is still being manipulated by the same people responsible for the campaign recall dedicated school board members that disrupted our community, Kerry McQuisten, Suzan Ellis Jones (also committee chair for Baker County Republicans) and Kyle Knight, who has actively put up yard signs to elect Ogan and McKim. Knight is associated with Western Liberty Network (WLN). This is an organization that is backed by billionaire David Koch, who advocates privatization of our schools.

Knight, who had taken the training from WLN, was given a monetary award by this organization for overcoming adversity while in office after the recall election. If Ogan and McKim are elected I fear they will vote with Knight and be a majority on all school board matters. 

Rosemary Abell and Kevin Cassidy are well qualified and have no hidden agenda beyond promoting and improving our Baker County schools.

Be sure to read U.S. Sen. Ron Wyden’s letter concerning anonymous campaign cash in the Record Courier May 9, 2013, issue. This is undermining our democracy and is happening here in Baker City.

Ruth Boyd

Baker City

Election not about red vs. blue, but best candidates

Elections can go from political in the best sense (choices between options) to the worst (moving from facts to destructive accusations) and leaving voters confused or in the dark.  Thankfully, the Herald on May 1 printed lengthy candidate statements which helped me determine the choice of candidates discussed in my letter of May 10. I apparently raised the ire of Suzan Ellis Jones, chair of the local GOP, who had “officially” endorsed a different slate of candidates. Due to this political endorsement, I thought readers deserved to know about the new leadership of the GOP (see Herald/Local Briefing, Nov. 16, 2012) and their connection to the tea party and to the recall election. In fact, one of Jones’ 5J slate and many of those writing in favor of it signed the recall petition (which is public information).

In response to Jones’ charges, I will clarify that the tea party in Oregon is not a party but rather a movement with affiliated groups and persons, the majority of which do vote Republican. I never doubted that the local GOP leadership got there for a term of up to 25 months through a process set out in state law. This does not mean, however, that many local Republicans are not distressed about it nor that most local Republicans share their views. Regarding her implied denial that any GOP officer is affiliated with the tea party, check out the discussion of new GOP Treasurer Kyle Knight as “the youngest chapter leader” in a front page Record Courier article on April 22, 2010, headlined “Americans for Prosperity Hold Local Tea Party by Suzan Ellis Jones.”

 About Jones’ destructive accusations that I and a few other citizens are “intent on slinging mud” and  “keeping the school board ‘blue at all costs,’ ” note that neither candidate I recommended is a Democrat although at least one Democrat is running. 

If we want the school board back on track, we must choose levelheaded candidates who will build on the educational and financial success of the district and push it further along in the positive direction it was already going.

Suzanne Moses

Baker City

 

Obama’s bad week a cornucopia for his critics


President Obama has had better weeks than this one.

Pretty much every week, actually, including many when he didn’t even win an election, sign a healthcare reform law, or have Osama bin Laden killed.

First, the White House press corps has roused from its months-long slumber about last year’s terrorist attack in Benghazi, Libya, reporters having detected the scent of scandal much as sharks recognize a splash of blood in the sea.

Second, with the revelation that the IRS has been acting the way the IRS acts in movies and novels but hardly anywhere else, the Justice Department is looking into whether tax bureaucrats’ targeting of tea party groups was illegal as well as politically idiotic.

Even by the lofty standards of the presidency, where public relations crises arrive with metronomic regularity, the two preceding blunders would constitute an especially troublesome period.

 

Letters to the Editor for May 15, 2013


Protect our public schools from conservative campaign 

Are our public schools in danger once again?  I’m concerned that the current 5J School Board election could produce the result that last December’s failed 5J recall could not. 

How else am I to interpret the enthusiastic endorsements of Mike Ogan and Rich McKim by recall leader Kerry McQuisten and recall treasurer Suzan Ellis Jones which appeared in our local papers even before the ballots arrived?  What else explains the integrated ticket of Ogan and McKim, featuring shared campaign literature and companion yard signs?  

McQuisten stated, “We need to elect both, not just one of these candidates, in order to see a substantial change at 5J.”  What does she mean? Could it be she knows that existing board member Kyle Knight,  plus Ogan, and McKim would form a majority of three on the five-member school board? Is that why Knight distributed the Ogan and McKim yard signs in my neighborhood? 

It’s important to understand that the recall and Kyle Knight are associated with and supported by the Tea Party, Americans for Prosperity, and the Western Liberty Network (WLN), which has proclaimed its intention to “take charge” of Baker County.  According to their web site, the Western Liberty Network in January gave to “...Kyle Knight, elected to the Baker City School Board after taking WLN training, an award for overcoming adversity while in office....”  

Americans for Prosperity is funded by arch-conservative billionaire David H. Koch who advocates privatization of our schools.

Last year’s experience offered ample demonstration of the divisive and reckless acts of those seeking to undermine our schools and the best interests of our community in pursuit of their ideological agenda.  

Our award-winning schools are among our most valuable assets to attract and retain energetic young families in Baker Valley. The recognition of our model schools and our Oregon Teacher of the Year are testimony to their quality and their contribution to a promising future for us all. Let us be sure to protect that heritage.

Marshall McComb

Baker City

5J candidates ask for a positive campaign

We collectively wondered who would become negative first. Mr. Dielman wins the prize. The six candidates all agreed any two of us would be a positive move, and that the bickering must stop. Life seems pleasant among the six of us candidates. 

Recent letters suffered from flaws in critical thinking. They take a fact, such that as we are conservative, add several guesses, false info, and have invented an entire scary story. What if two candidates were seen eating downtown together last week? Would that be more controversy? No. 

Neither McComb, Moses, nor Dielman decided to ask us about any of their fiction. They have resorted to fear, inventing stories to scare people. We’re wondering if someone will play the “gender card” next, saying we’re unqualified because we’re male. (But wouldn’t that be sexist?) 

Perhaps some folks were listening to the quiet heckling from the back of the AAUW forum.

We got our introduction to robust thinking from Mrs. Dielman in the early ’80s. Thankfully it stuck.  

 Sooo, to clarify:

1: We still hope to earn endorsement from others of any political stripe in this non-partisan race. This is about educating kids for a tough world out there. We are about unity of effort for the students. We owe allegiance to the public, and no organization. All six candidates have endorsements. It’s (mostly) positive opinion from citizens supporting their candidate.  

2: Some want people to panic over a “3-2 majority.” The board has one now. Big deal. Again, this is a non-partisan race. The 10 percent on both ends must stop trying to control the 80 percent of us in the middle. 

3: We graduated from, had, and still have kids in the 5J system. We are running for a seat to improve it in challenging times.

Thank you, and keep it positive.

Mike Ogan

Richard McKim

Both writers are candidates for the Baker School Board. Ogan is running for Position 3, McKim for Position 4.

After researching, Ogan and McKim are my choices

I would like to respond to our longstanding liberal, Suzanne Moses, on her Friday letter to the editor. I couldn’t imagine anyone being as bad as she said Mike Ogan and Rich McKim were, and running for the school board. Oh dear! So I did some checking into the background of both Ogan and McKim.

I would like to thank you, Suzanne, you really opened my eyes. I am sure glad I didn’t cast my ballot yet. After vetting all of the people running for the school board, Ogan and McKim are my picks by far. If it wasn’t for you, Suzanne, I would have voted for Rosemary Abell and Kevin Cassidy. Oh the shame of it all, what a mistake that would have been.

Now I am voting for strong, conservative, very principled candidates, with strong financial backgrounds, dedicated to turning a very negative atmosphere into a positive, can-do leadership. No backroom deals with these two boys, no sir, we need to deal with the positives and round-file the negatives.

Even though we cut one school day a week, and laid of 25 teachers, we have increased our per student cost $1,300 per child. Didn’t I hear that the administrators got a raise?

In the past seven years our math performance has steadily dropped by 14 percent. The 5J District has problems that need a strong leadership, this is why I am voting for Mike Ogan and Rich McKim. Check ’em out and vote for leadership and strength.

Chuck Chase

Baker City

Brass quintet put on quite a show for Baker audience

Baker Community Concerts presented a big hit to an appreciative audience Friday night at the high school auditorium. The Presidio Brass, five of the best horn players one could ever hope to hear, presented a dynamic program of classics and jazz on a variety of brass instruments. Kudos to the tubist-pianist who also is the sole arranger responsible for making music written for symphony orchestra, string quartet, opera, jazz, or science fiction movies fit the instrumentation of this small group of five horns.

On another note, the 14th Van Cliburn International Piano Competition will be held in Fort Worth, Texas, May 21-June 9. The good news is that one does not have to go to Fort Worth to attend.

It will be available via:  e-mail ( This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it ), live webcast, Facebook, and Twitter. This is a musical phenomenon to enjoy and appreciate.

Mardelle Ebell

Baker City

 
<< Start < Previous page 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 Next page > End >>

News
Local / Sports / Business / State / National / Obituaries / Submit News
Opinion
Editorials / Letters / Columns / Submit a letter
Features
Outdoors / Go Magazine / Milestones / Living Well
Baker Herald
About / Contact / Commercial Printing / Subscriptions / Terms of Use / Privacy Policy / Commenting Policy / Site Map
Also Online
Photo Reprints / Videos / Local Business Links / Community Links / Weather and Road Cams / RSS Feed

Follow Baker City Herald headlines on Follow Baker City Herald headlines on Twitter

© Copyright 2001 - 2014 Western Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. By Using this site you agree to our Terms of Use