Nathan L.

Baker boys are third in Thursday's Baker Cross Country Invitational

The Union High School boys cross country team

showed its prowess at the Baker Cross Country Invitational Thursday,

sweeping the top 5 spots to post a perfect score of 15 in the four-team

boys field.

The Baker boys finished third, with 83 points. La Grande was second with 46 points, and Burns placed fourth with 91 points.

As the only team to field a full squad of at least five runners, the Baker girls also came in with a perfect score of 15.

Melissa Clarke was the first Baker girl across the finish line. Her time of 21:40 was good enough for first place.

She was followed by teammates Felicia Schneider (23:04, 7th place),

Kori Rayborn (24:43, 9th place), Annika Yates (25:21, 11th place), and

Charlotte Bowers (25:25, 12th place) to round out the Baker girls


The rest of the Baker girls finished like this: Mary Bulger, 13th,

26:52; Ellen Jampolsky, 16th, 28:39; Haley Adams, 17th, 28:40; Anna

Clarke, 18th, 29:13; Emily Miller, 19th, 29:30; Hazel Hanson, 20th,

29:42; and Laura Borgen, 21st, 34:55.

Kate Stewart of Union won the girls race in 21:28. She finished five seconds ahead of Kara Davis of Burns, who in turn was seven seconds in front of Baker's Clarke.

On the boys side, Trevor Freese led the Baker team with a time of 18:19. Freese finished 7th in a field of 48 runners.

Skyler Young of Baker finished 17th in 20:08. Teammate Mitch Sandefur was right behind him, in 18th at 20:09.

Andrew Gettle cracked the top 20 in a time of 20:16. Jacob Payton rounded out the Baker scoring. His 20:16 time put him in 21st place.

Other Baker boys runners and their places: 22, Kristian Krohn, 20:19; 23, Brandon Lowry, 20:25; 24, Erik Robertson, 20:26; 27, Jake Sandefur, 20:53; 29, Joe Anderson, 21:08; 31, Jon Whitlow, 21:20; 32, Cameron McAlister, 21:21; 33, Elliott Averett, 21:27; 36, Will Mercado, 21:36; 37, Andrew Porter, 21:43; 42, Dan Sizer, 23:09; 43, Jesse Rayborn, 23:09; 44, Lucas Ferguson, 25:04; 45, B.J. Savage, 25:45.

Chris Fasel of Union won the boys race in 17:17. He was followed by four teammates: Tom Sheehy, in 17:39; Michael Cox, 18:00; Gabriel O'Reilly, 18:02; and Tyler Griffiths, 18:10.

Bake will compete in the Greater Oregon League District meet Saturday on the campus of Eastern Oregon University in La Grande.