Nathan L.

Ted Shaw, a first-team all-Greater Oregon League defensive lineman from

Baker, was recently selected on the East roster for the annual

East-West Shrine All-Star Football Game in Baker City.

Shaw helped the Bulldogs win the GOL championship and advance to the first round of the Class 4A state playoffs in November.

Other area selections on the East roster are Jake Turner of Ontario,

Zane Murray and Cash Wenick of Grant Union, Russ Seals of Vale, Sam

Fiorito of Union, Nick West of Imbler and former Bulldog Grant Marcum

of Joseph.

East alternates include Andy Godfrey of La Grande, Michael Martin of

Burns, Tyler Martin and Dustin Lippert of Grant Union, Clint Predmore

of Elgin, Jeremy Moore of Union, Justin Brainerd of Cove, Sam Garnett

of Joseph and Andrew Wilson of Wallowa.

Shrine game officials note that being selected is not a guaranteed

participation in the game. Selected players must first return their

parental permission slip and "keep their nose clean" in the intervening


The 2009 game will be played Aug. 1 at Bulldog Memorial Stadium.