Jayson Jacoby
The Baker City Herald

By Terri Harber


The official field for the upcoming Baker City Council race has expanded to six candidates.

As of Thursday afternoon, R. Mack Augenfeld, Mike Downing and Richard Langrell all were declared as qualified to run after turning in petitions signed by registered voters.

Candidates must obtain at least 40 viable signatures from registered, active voters to be included on the Nov. 6 General Election ballot.

Signatures must be verified by the county clerk's office.

Would-be candidates have been asked to collect at least 50 signatures in case some turn out to be ineligible.

Augenfeld is a retiree who has worked in healthcare, business and academia. Downing is in agriculture sales and has served previously as a pro tem Justice of the Peace for Baker County. And Langrell was on the council during the 1980s and early 1990s and owns the Always Welcome Inn.

Barbara Johnson, Kyle Knight and Terry Schumacher already are officiallyrunning for seats on the council.

Johnson is a retiree and member of the local group Concerned Citizens of Baker County. Knight is a member of the Baker School District Board of Directors. And Schumacher is a former councilor who last served in December 2008.

Four seats are up for grabs on the seven-seat council. Three of the seats are for four-year terms and the fourth is a two-year term. The candidate who receives the fourth-highest number of votes serves the shorter term, according to the Baker City Charter.

Two other potential candidates were circulating petitions: incumbent Milo Pope and Jack Turner, said Valeria Hysong, a city spokesperson.

Councilor Aletha Bonebrake, the other incumbent who could seek a second term, hasn't requested a candidacy packet.

The two other seats open are those occupied by Councilors Sam Bass and Beverly Calder.

Both members have reached their term limits for council service.

Mayor Dennis Dorrah and Councilors Clair Button and Roger Coles are the other three incumbents. Their seats are open for election in 2014 along with this election's fourth-place finisher.

The deadline to return candidacy petitions is at 4 p.m. on Monday, Aug. 27.