Katy Nesbitt
The La Grande Observer

Wallowa County voters chose John Hillock for county commissioner during the 2018 midterm elections Tuesday.

The four-way commissioner race was set early in September following the sudden death of commissioner-elect Bruce Dunn. Hillock, owner of Enterprise Electric, received nearly 60 percent of the more than 3,700 votes cast.

Following the sudden absence last spring of the Wallowa County treasurer and the office’s only staff member, three candidates filed to run for the county office. Longtime county employee Ginger Goebel-Burns won the election with nearly 47 percent of the 3,403 votes.

Sandy Lathrop retained her position as county clerk in the election in an uncontested race.

In the City of Joseph a ballot initiative to allow a marijuana dispensary passed by 24 votes, 359 to 335.

Enterprise had the only contested city council position. Bruce Blivens edged out competitor Ashley Sullivan by a margin of roughly 4 percent. Councilors Jenni Word and David Elliott ran uncontested to retain their seats on city council. Mayor Stacy Karvoski also ran uncontested to retain her position.

In Joseph, two incumbent council members retained their seats, Teresa Sajonia and Pearl Sturm.

In Wallowa, three positions were filled in uncontested races. Gary Hulse was elected mayor while Joe Town and Oran Mccrae were elected to serve on city council.

Dusty Tippett kept his position as mayor of Lostine while Katelyn Shelton and Darci Calhoun will fill two of the city council roles.

See more in Wednesday's edition of The Observer.